Republic of Tea : Blackberry Sage

20140617_133044[1]

Recently, while out to lunch at the delicious The Barn Restaurant in Smithville, Ohio I dropped into one of the little shops on site called The Oak Cupboard.  Among their great tea selection I was happy to see some The Republic of Tea flavors I’ve been itching to try!

The canister I bought had 50 unbleached tea bags in it.  The above picture shows the can and the teabags.  Upon opening the can there’s definitely a blackberry smell. The directions said to steep for 3-5 minutes and for this first cup I steeped for the minimum 3 minutes then added a tiny bit of sugar.  Once brewed, the smell is not as strong.  The flavor was a smooth black tea with hints of blackberry.  The more I sipped I think I may have picked up the sage notes.  Not sure since truthfully this is first I’ve had a sage tea.  * Honestly I was a little afraid I wouldn’t like the tea because I do NOT like the smell of fresh sage.  Maybe it loses the pungent aroma when dried? *

20140617_134540[1]

Overall I found it a relaxing blend, not a strong black blend like the black teas I’m used to drinking so I won’t be using this as my morning wake up cup.  Since my first cup I have had it iced and I actually prefer it as an iced tea, and I double the tea bags when doing so as the canister recommends.

The Republic of Tea’s website describes the tea as follows:

“Tea For Wisdom – An enchanting blend of black tea, fruit and herbs. Finest quality tea leaves mingle with sweet, fragrant blackberries and cool, soothing white sage. The mild, head-clearing character of the white sage herb contributes to a wise tea mind.”

Blackberry Sage tea sells on The Republic of Tea website (here)   at time of post:

Tin-50 Tea Bags  $9.50

Bulk 250 Tea Bags $38.00

Refill-50 Tea Bags $9.00

Traveller-6 Tea Bags $3.99

** The Oak Cupboard sold the Tin of 50 Tea Bags for $9.99.  Seeing as how I had it immediately and didn’t have to pay shipping,  I’m OK with that 🙂  **

 

 

Leave a Reply

