A Tank Top It Will Be

After months of not even picking up a hook, I finally started a crochet project today!  I was inspired to try something completely new.  I’ve made blankets, scarves, hats, even booties but I’ve never made articles of clothing I can actually wear!  I’ve had a tear off sheet from a craft store of a Caron Simply Soft cami pattern since I began crocheting several years ago.  Finally today I began to work on that pattern!  Now I decided to use some worsted weight yarn I have in my stash instead of running off to the craft store for wonderful Caron Simply Soft.  I figured I’d use this one as a test cami and if I like it after I’m done then I’ll go splurge on the Caron yarn in my color choice.

So far so good.  I’ve made the net section of the front and back.  The pattern said to do this for 9 inches, and when it’s stretched flat it is 9 inches tall but it looks longer in the pattern’s picture… not sure if it’s the weight of the edging added at the bottom that I don’t have yet, or the difference in the yarn.  Guess we’ll find out when it’s finished!

20140617_202405[1]

 

Even if this tank top doesn’t work out, I’ve at least crossed the threshold into something new and I’m already thinking up how the next tank top should be and what yarn and color I’d use.  I do love a comfy tank top in the summer 🙂

OH!  You can try your hand at the Caron Floral Cami pattern here.  Let me know if you have made this tank, or how it goes if you take on this project!

Leave a Reply

