April is National Poetry Month, WHAT??!!

Imagine my surprise when scanning the blogs posted on my WordPress reader I come across the fact that April is national poetry month.  A whole month devoted to poems? YES!  I then binge read quite a few poems posted by other bloggers and come across this wonderful creation called a Lune.  I remember having to write sonnets, Haikus, odes, even free-verse poems for English class; but I don’t recall writing a Lune.  Apparently it’s the English cousin to the Japanese Haiku.  Still a 3 line poem, but instead of the Haiku’s 5-7-5 syllable rule for each line the Lune goes by word count 3-5-3. Super easy, right? I am inspired! 

I may have been one of the few in my English class that actually enjoyed writing poems.  I wrote poems on my own; some of them pretty good if I do say so myself, although I’m sure they made it to the garbage or lost somewhere in the many times I’ve moved since high school.  I did manage to get a few poems published, so those I still have.  One each in 7th and 8th grades that were part of a contest, and also one submitted to poetry.com sometime shortly after graduating.  I haven’t wrote a poem in many years, but knowing that it is National Poetry month and all, I think there is no reason not to.  Maybe I’ll even get my toddler to join in on the fun.  She does have quite the imagination, I’m sure she could come up with something great too!

Excuse me, I have some poems to compose 🙂

Leave a Reply

